SureFire DMS, CAMS and Advantage Complete vs. Lot Jacket: Canadian dealer software for a small Ontario lot
SureFire DMS, CAMS and Advantage Complete are full Canadian dealer management systems; Lot Jacket is not. SureFire is the only vendor on UCDA's F&I software page, generates UCDA bills of sale and connects to Dealertrack, from $149 a month for UCDA members. CAMS starts at $150 a month with no long-term contract. Advantage Complete, built in London, Ontario since 1990, does not publish prices. Lot Jacket skips CRM, lender submission and accounting to do one job, the Ontario deal file, from scanning to e-signed bill of sale to garage register. If you need a DMS, pick among the three; if your problem is paperwork, compare on that instead.
Ask Google which software Ontario used-car dealers use and the AI Overview will name a handful of Canadian platforms. In our checks this month those included CAMS and Advantage Complete, and a week earlier SureFire DMS, the one vendor UCDA lists for its members. All three are real Canadian businesses with Ontario customers, which already puts them ahead of the US tools we compared in the My Dealer Jacket comparison. This guide lays their published facts next to ours, including where we lose.
SureFire, CAMS and Advantage Complete are dealer management systems: inventory, CRM, deals, F&I, and in SureFire and Advantage's case accounting, in one place. Lot Jacket is a deal-jacket tool: it does the Ontario paperwork around each sale and nothing else. If you finance through Dealertrack daily or run a service bay, you want a DMS. If your pain is incomplete files, missed disclosures and a register that's always behind, that is a different purchase.
The three Canadian DMS platforms, from their own sites
SureFire DMS
SureFireDMS Solutions Canada sells a dealership management system integrated with Sage 50 (Canadian edition), with QuickBooks on its accounting tier. Its public pricing page lists a free version (single PC; inventory tracking, inventory cards and window stickers only), then Basic $179/month, Web Enhanced $249, Accounting Enhanced $339 and Premium $419, each with a $129 setup fee and up to 15 computers, or a per-vehicle FlexPlan from $11.99 to $22.99. Cloud access is $29 per user per month, the mobile app $9. UCDA members pay less: $149 to $359 a month, or $9.99 to $17.99 per delivered vehicle.
What makes SureFire the Ontario default for many independents is UCDA. Its F&I Software page lists SureFire alone, producing UCDA used and wholesale bills of sale, trade-in appraisals and lease agreements, feeding listings to AutoTrader, Kijiji, CarPages and others, integrating two-way with Dealertrack Canada, and offering the Ministry of Transportation garage register “at the click of a button.”
CAMS
CAMS is Canadian owned and has served Canadian dealers since 1998. Its site lists inventory, a sales calendar and CRM, deal management and F&I, service and parts, a digital document centre, reports, a mobile app and dealer websites, for used, new, RV, rental, farm-equipment and buy-here-pay-here dealers. Pricing starts at $150 a month for the base plan and varies by modules, across Pro and Premium tiers, with no long-term contracts and unlimited users and vehicles in the cloud. It mentions an integration with UCDA's Ontario Cars marketplace. Its site does not describe OMVIC-specific features, a garage register or e-signature.
Advantage Complete
Advantage Complete was founded in 1990 in London, Ontario as Oasis Auto Complete and, by its own account, was bought by dealers and rebuilt in 2022. It positions itself as the all-in-one DMS built in Canada for independent used-car dealers: inventory, CRM and deal management, fully integrated accounting, in-house leasing, buy-here-pay-here and F&I, VIN decoding and online syndication, plus AI and automation tools. It offers local onboarding and support and no long-term lock-ins, but publishes no prices.
Side by side
| SureFire DMS | CAMS | Advantage Complete | Lot Jacket | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Full DMS | Full DMS | Full DMS | Deal-jacket tool |
| Published entry price | $179/mo ($149 UCDA) + $129 setup; free tier | From $150/mo | Not published | Core $249/mo + $599 setup |
| Contract | Monthly or per-vehicle | No long-term contract | No long-term lock-in | See pricing |
| CRM | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| Accounting | Sage 50 / QuickBooks tier | Not stated | Integrated | No (deal ledger only) |
| Dealertrack | Two-way integration | Not stated | Not stated | No |
| Ontario bill of sale | UCDA forms | Not stated | Not stated | Generated from deal data, e-signed |
| Garage register | MTO register, per UCDA | Not stated | Not stated | Written from each deal |
| Document capture | Not stated | Document centre, scanning | Not stated | AI parser to typed deal fields |
“Not stated” means the vendor's own pages don't say, not that the feature is missing. Ask on the demo.
What year one actually costs on a 10-car-a-month lot
Published prices only, before tax, for a lot delivering about 120 vehicles a year with two people who need access away from the office. Your quote will differ; the point is the shape of each pricing model.
| Option | How it's built | Year one |
|---|---|---|
| SureFire Basic, monthly | $179 × 12 + $129 setup + cloud $29 × 2 users × 12 | $2,973 |
| SureFire Basic, FlexPlan | $11.99 × 120 + $129 setup + cloud for 2 | $2,264 |
| SureFire Basic, UCDA member FlexPlan | $9.99 × 120 delivered + cloud for 2 (setup not stated on the UCDA page) | $1,895 + setup |
| CAMS base plan | From $150 × 12 (modules extra) | From $1,800 |
| Advantage Complete | Quote only | Unknown |
| Lot Jacket Core | $249 × 12 + $599 setup | $3,587 |
| Lot Jacket founding dealer | $149 × 12, setup waived (15 spots) | $1,788 |
At list price, Lot Jacket Core is the most expensive line here, and it does less than any of the three DMS platforms. That is the honest starting point. The comparison only favours us if the thing you are paying to fix is the deal file itself, and if you are already paying for a DMS, the question becomes whether your DMS does the paperwork well enough that you don't need both.
The Ontario paperwork test
A DMS earns its money on inventory, financing and books. The OMVIC inspector asks about something else: whether every file contains what O. Reg. 333/08 requires. Run these five on any demo, ours included, with one of your own real deals:
- Section 42 disclosures. Enter a vehicle with prior rental use and a repair over $3,000. Does the contract pick both up in writing, or does someone have to remember to type them?
- The as-is statement. Sell a car as-is. Does the prescribed statement appear in 12-point bold with a place for the buyer's initials (s. 40(2)), and does the system stop you if a current safety certificate exists (s. 40(3))? See the as-is guide.
- Trade-in with a loan. Does the contract carry the section 43(4) trade details and the paragraph 13 payout statement, and do the credit, payout and balance reconcile? See the lien payout guide.
- Garage register. Is the register written from the deal, or is it a separate screen someone fills in later? Section 57(2) keeps those records for six years.
- The file on demand. Ask for one complete deal jacket, every signed page and scan, as a single export. Time it.
A note from the lot floor
Lot Jacket runs inside two small Ontario lots, Afghan Automotive in Toronto and Momo Cars in Niagara Falls. Most dealers we talk to already own a DMS, or a spreadsheet doing a DMS's job, and the paperwork still lives in a binder and three inboxes because the DMS was bought to manage cars and money, not files. That gap is why we built a narrow tool instead of a fourth DMS. If your DMS already closes it, keep your money.
Which one fits
- You're a UCDA member financing through Dealertrack most days: SureFire is the path of least resistance, and the member pricing is the cheapest published DMS option here.
- You want a cloud DMS with no contract and several users: CAMS, and get the module price in writing.
- You want integrated accounting, BHPH or in-house leasing: Advantage Complete, and ask for the quote up front.
- You're 1–3 people and the problem is the deal file, not the DMS: that is what Lot Jacket is for. It runs alongside a DMS or instead of a spreadsheet. See the small-lot DMS guide for the wider field.
How Lot Jacket handles it
Photograph the ownership, licence, insurance slip and safety certificate; the parser turns them into typed fields; the bill of sale is generated from those fields with the section 42 disclosures and e-signed on the spot; the garage register entry writes itself; and the deal lands in one file. Current plans are on the pricing page.
Book a free 15-minute demo and run the five-point paperwork test on us with your own deal.
Vendor details were taken from each vendor's own website and UCDA's member page on September 28, 2026, and can change. We compete with these products; check current features and pricing with each vendor directly. This guide is general information, not legal or purchasing advice.
Sources
- F&I Software (member services) — UCDA
- SureFire DMS pricing plans — SureFireDMS Solutions Canada
- SureFire DMS UCDA member pricing — SureFireDMS Solutions Canada
- Dealer Management Software for Canadian Auto Dealers — CAMS
- About Us and FAQ — Advantage Complete
- O. Reg. 333/08: General, ss. 40, 42, 43 and 57 — Government of Ontario (e-Laws)
Frequently asked questions
How much does SureFire DMS cost?
SureFire's own pricing page lists a free single-PC version for basic inventory tracking, then Basic at $179 a month, Web Enhanced $249, Accounting Enhanced $339 and Premium $419, each with a $129 setup fee, or a FlexPlan charged per vehicle ($11.99 to $22.99). Cloud access is $29 a month per user and the mobile app $9 a month per user. UCDA members get lower rates: $149 to $359 a month, or $9.99 to $17.99 per delivered vehicle.
Is SureFire DMS endorsed by UCDA?
SureFire is the only vendor listed on UCDA's F&I Software page for members as of September 2026. UCDA describes it as producing UCDA used and wholesale bills of sale, trade-in appraisals and lease agreements, feeding listings to sites including AutoTrader, Kijiji and CarPages, integrating two-way with Dealertrack Canada, and offering the Ministry of Transportation garage register at the click of a button.
How much does CAMS dealer software cost?
CAMS says its base plan starts at $150 a month, with pricing that varies by dealership size, needs and modules, across Pro and Premium plans. It advertises no long-term contracts, no hidden fees, and a cloud system with unlimited users and vehicles. CAMS has served Canadian dealers since 1998.
Does Advantage Complete publish its pricing?
No. Advantage Complete's FAQ describes flexible pricing and no long-term lock-ins but lists no figures, so you need a quote. The company was founded in 1990 in London, Ontario as Oasis Auto Complete and was bought by dealers in 2022.
Is Lot Jacket a replacement for a DMS?
Not for a dealer who needs one. Lot Jacket has no CRM pipeline, no service-shop invoicing and no lender submission; it is built around the Ontario deal file, from scanned documents to an e-signed bill of sale to the garage register entry. Lots that finance through Dealertrack every day, run a service bay or keep their books inside the DMS are better served by a full DMS.
Which of these handles OMVIC paperwork?
None of the three DMS vendors' own sites describe OMVIC-specific checks such as the section 42 disclosures or the as-is statement, though SureFire generates UCDA's bills of sale, which are drafted for Ontario dealers. Ask any vendor, Lot Jacket included, to show on a live demo where each O. Reg. 333/08 disclosure lands on the contract.
Go deeper
This guide is general information for Ontario used-car dealers, not legal or compliance advice. OMVIC requirements can change — always confirm the current rules with OMVIC or a qualified advisor.